E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize 2021

Second Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Outstanding Dissertation Prize 2021


Since 2002, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI) has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information (http://www.folli.info/?page_id=74), with financial support of the E.W. Beth Foundation (https://www.knaw.nl/en/awards/funds/evert-willem-beth-stichting/evert-willem-beth-foundation). 

Nominations are now invited for the best dissertation in these areas resulting in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2020.


The deadline for nominations is the 15th of April 2021.



  • A Ph.D. dissertation on a topic concerning Logic, Language, or Information is eligible for the Beth Dissertation Prize 2021, if the degree was awarded  between January 1st and December 31st, 2020.
  • There are no restrictions on the nationality, ethnicity, age, gender or employment status of the author of the nominated dissertation, nor on the university, academic department or scientific institution formally conferring the Ph.D. degree, nor on the language in which the dissertation has originally been written.
  • In accordance with the aim of the Beth Foundation to continue and extend the work of the Dutch logician Evert Willem Beth, nominations are invited of excellent dissertations on topics in the broad remit of ESSLLI, including current topics in philosophical and mathematical logic, computer science logic, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, history of logic, history of the philosophy of science and scientific philosophy in general, as well as the current theoretical and foundational developments in information and computation, language, and cognition. Dissertations with results more broadly impacting various research areas in their interdisciplinary investigations are especially solicited.
  • If a nominated dissertation has originally been written in a language other than English, its dossier should still contain the required 10 page English abstract, see below. If the committee decides that a nominated dissertation in a language other than English requires translation to English for proper evaluation, the committee can transfer its nomination to the competition in 2022. The English translation must in such cases be submitted before the deadline of the call for nominations in 2022. The committee may recommend the Beth Foundation to consider supporting such nominated dissertations for English translation, upon request by the author of the dissertation.



The prize consists of:

  • a certificate
  • a donation of 3000 euros, provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation, divided among the winners, should there be more than one winner
  • an invitation to submit the dissertation, possibly after revision, for publication in FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information (Springer).



Only digital submissions are accepted, without exception. Hard copy submissions are not allowed. The following documents are to be submitted in the nomination dossier:

  • The original dissertation in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf etc. not acceptable).
  • A ten-page English abstract of the dissertation, presenting the main results of each chapter.
  • A letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor, which concisely describes the scope and significance of the dissertation, stating when the degree was officially awarded and the members of the Ph.D. committee. Nominations should contain the address, phone and email details of the nominator.
  • Two additional letters of support, including at least one from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree, nor otherwise related to the nominee (e.g. former teachers, supervisors, co-authors, publishers or relatives) or the dissertation.
  • Self-nominations are not possible.

All pdf documents must be submitted electronically, as one zip file, via EasyChair by following the link https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=bodp2021. In case of any problems or questions please contact the chair of the committee Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (m.sadrzadeh@ucl.ac.uk).


The prize will be awarded by the chair of the FoLLI board at a ceremony during the 32nd ESSLLI summer school.


Beth dissertation prize committee 2021

Samson Abramsky (University of Oxford)

Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)

Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford University)

Robin Cooper (University of Gothenburg)

Guy Emerson (University of Cambridge)

Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)

Sujata Ghosh (ISI, Chennai)

Davide Grossi (Universities of Groningen and Amsterdam) 

Christoph Haase (University of Oxford)

Louise McNally (Universitat Pompeu Fabra Barcelona)

Reinhard Muskens (University of Amsterdam)

Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (University College London, chair)

Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh)

Matthew Stone (Rutgers University)

Jouko Vaananen (University of Helsinki and University of Amsterdam)



FoLLI is committed to diversity and inclusion and we welcome dissertations from all under-represented groups 


Please send any queries to